WATCH: Live stream of SpaceX launch

MGN
By  | 

CAPE CANAVERAL, Florida (KTUU) - The SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket is set to launch Intelstat 35e, which is scheduled for liftoff on Sunday, July 2 at 3:30 p.m. Alaska time (7:30 p.m EDT).

CLICK HERE TO SEE THE LIVE STREAM ON YOUTUBE.

Falcon 9 is a two-stage rocket manufactured to transport satellites and Dragon spacecraft into orbit. It is currently the only rocket designed and developed this century.

Intelstat 35e is a communication satellite for parts of the Caribbean, Europe and Africa, designed to deliver high performance service to areas that may have more disruptive weather patterns.

Intelsat 35e will be sent from Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A) at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Florida.

A 58-minute launch window opens on Sunday, July 2, at 3:36 p.m. Alaska time (7:36 p.m. EDT, or 23:36 UTC).

The satellite will be deployed about a half hour after the initial launch.

A backup launch window will open on Monday, July 3, at 3:37 Alaska time (7:37 p.m. EDT, or 23:37 UTC).

SpaceX is not planning a landing for the first stage of the rocket and will not attempt to land Falcon 9’s first stage after launch due to mission requirements.