Eric Strabel cruised to a comfortable repeat win in the 2014 Mount Marathon men’s race Friday afternoon, off his record-breaking 2013 pace but still well ahead of his competitors.

Strabel, who last year both reclaimed the title he earned in 2011 and shattered a 32-year-old race record of 43 minutes and 21 seconds held by Bill Spencer, was in a tight pack with 2013 runner-up Ricky Gates and 2012 victor Matt Novakovich on the way up, but broke from the pack at the summit and plunged to an uncontested win with a time of 44 minutes and 46 seconds.

The top five were rounded out within three minutes, with Mattias Saari following him across the line in second at 45:53, closely followed by Novakovich in third at 45:59. Gates took fourth at 46:49, and dark-horse contender Jim Shine who bought a bib for the first wave in fifth at 47:12.

In the women’s race earlier Friday, Holly Brooks reclaimed her crown from 2013 winner Christy Marvin, who put up a close fight and almost overtook Brooks but came in two second behind her with a time of 52:51 to Brooks’ 52:49.

In the junior race, Allison Ostrander made her final outing one to remember by overtaking every boy in the field and becoming the first girl ever to log the event’s fastest overall time -- 28:54. Michael Marshall, the first boy across the finish line, crossed with a final time of 29:36.