Voters are preparing to cast their vote in the 2014 primary election. Tuesday polls open in Alaska from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Alaskans will be deciding whether a controversial oil tax reform law will stay on the books. Ballot Measure 1 asks voters whether or not to repeal Senate Bill 21 -- those who want to support the current law should vote no, while those who want to reject it should punch yes.

Three major candidates are vying for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate: Mead Treadwell, Dan Sullivan and Joe Miller. The winner will face incumbent Democratic Sen. Mark Begich. There is no runoff in this primary.

The GOP primary is closed, meaning only those who are registered as Republican, undeclared or non-partisan may vote in that primary Tuesday.

"One ballot contains candidates from the Alaska Democratic Party, the Alaska Libertarian Party, and the Alaskan Independence Party, and that ballot is available to any registered voter in the state,” said Gail Fenumiai, director of the state Division of Elections.

In some of the Legislature races around the state, there are only two contested Democratic primaries in the House. Republicans will choose their party's nominees in 10 House seats, as well as one in the Senate.

Fenumiai says 19,043 people have voted absentee since Monday morning, that number was 22,338 through by this point in the 2010 primary. 

A voter ID card, driver's license, passport, military or tribal ID, even a hunting or fishing license are all accepted forms of identification to bring to the polls.

"You also may be personally known by the election worker, then they can waive the identification requirements, if you don't have identification, you're able to vote a questioned ballot," said Fenumiai.

Questioned ballots will be verified by a non-partisan election review board after the primary.

Channel 2's Mallory Peebles contributed to this story.