21 new COVID-19 cases announced by DHSS, including seven non-residents

(MGN Image)
By  | 

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - The State of Alaska has announced 21 new positive cases of COVID-19 in Alaska. There are 14 new resident cases and seven new non-resident cases.

  • Anchorage - 8

  • Ketchikan - 1

  • Palmer - 1

  • North Pole - 1

  • Chugiak- 1

  • Mat-Su - 1

  • Fairbanks -1

The new non-resident cases were reported in a variety of industries and locations. There were non-resident cases reported in Fairbanks; two worked in the mining industry, one was a visitor and another was in an undisclosed industry.

There was one new non-resident case in Anchorage, one new case in the Kodiak Island Borough and one new non-resident case in a seafood industry worker in the Combined Bristol Bay and Lake & Peninsula boroughs.

The 14 new resident cases bring the state's total to 792 cases. Of that total, 273 cases are still considered active and 507 have recovered.

The Department of Health and Social Services says about 96,096 tests have been conducted for COVID-19 in Alaska with an average positive test rate of .71% over the last three days, DHSS said.

No new deaths were reported on the state's COVID-19 Data Hub. Twelve Alaskans have died with COVID-19 since March.

The state reports that 16 Alaskans are currently hospitalized with COVID-19, or are suspected of having it. In all, total hospitalizations are at 64.

136 non-residents have tested positive for COVID-19.

For a full breakdown of cases by borough, click here.

Copyright 2020 KTUU. All rights reserved.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus