Alaska Sports Hall of Fame announces Director's Awards winners

Oregon's Ruthy Hebard, left, is defended by United State's Napheesa Collier during an exhibition basketball game in Eugene, Ore., Saturday, Nov. 9, 2019. (AP Photo/Chris Pietsch)
By  | 

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) - The Alaska Sports Hall of Fame announced the winners of the Director's Awards Wednesday, notably honoring NCAA All-American basketball player Ruthy Hebard and junior World Champion cross-country skier Gus Schumacher.

The Director's Awards have been an annual tradition for the Alaska Hall of Fame since 2012 with male and female Pride of Alaska awards, the Trajan Langdon Award and the Joe Floyd Award.

Hebard was awarded the Pride of Alaska award after having finished her college basketball career at the University of Oregon. Originally from Fairbanks, Hebard became the second woman from Alaska to record 2,000 points and 1,000 rebounds, the Hall of Fame said.

Schumacher, from Anchorage, was awarded the Pride of Alaska Award after he became the first American male to win a junior World Championship individual award this March. Schumacher was also recently recognized alongside Mikaela Shiffrin as a Beck Internation Trophy winner.

[RELATED: Alaska's Gus Schumacher shares spotlight with Mikaela Shiffrin for athlete of the year honors]

Congratulations to Pride of Alaska Award winners Ruthy Hebard and Gus Schumacher. They are Alaska's athletes of the...

Posted by Alaska Sports Hall of Fame on Wednesday, June 24, 2020

This year's awards were presented by Alaska Sports Hall of Fame Executive Director Harlow Robinson and Board Vice President Matt Carle on Facebook Live.

2020 ASHOF Directors' Awards

Posted by Alaska Sports Hall of Fame on Wednesday, June 24, 2020

"Ruthy and Gus are two tremendous athletes achieving great things early in life," Robinson said. "The sky is the limit for both of them and we look forward to watching them continue to represent Alaska on the biggest stages."

Kotzebue's Nathan Hale was awarded the Trajan Langdon Award for demonstrating leadership in sport after he was the first double-leg amputee to complete the Iron Dog race and did so with a first-place finish in the 1,000 plus mile snowmachine race.

Cristy Hickel of Anchorage was honored with the Joe Floyd Award for making a lasting contribution to Alaska sports as she founded SPYDER Soccer 30 years ago and continues to coach girls hockey.

Copyright 2020 KTUU. All rights reserved.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus