Burn ban still in effect across Anchorage

Bay, Gulf, Calhoun, and Jackson Counties are all under a burn ban until further notice. (MGN)

ANCHORAGE, (KTUU) - The Anchorage Fire Department is advising the public that a burn ban is still in effect.

AFD says they’ve received multiple calls and questions regarding what is allowed during the burn ban.

    To be clear, AFD says outdoor fires are not allowed during the burn ban. This includes:

  • Bon fires

  • Campfires

  • Open flame cooking fires (except barbecues)

  • Portable outdoor fireplaces

  • Fixed/built in outdoor fireplaces

  • Grass or yard debris burning

  • And any other heat sources which have the potential to start a grass or wildland fire.

You can visit the Anchorage Fire Department website to learn how we determine the fire danger.

Alaska State Troopers are also sending out a warning.

    AST says fire danger across the state continues to remain high. As a result, the following locations have a suspension of sale and use of fireworks:

  • Fairbanks North Star Borough

  • Kenai Peninsula Borough

  • Matanuska-Susitna Borough

  • Copper River Valley, including Glennallen south to Valdez

  • Tanana Valley north of the Alaska Range

  • Northern Panhandle

  • Municipality of Skagway and Juneau Borough.

  • Kodiak Borough

Copyright 2019 KTUU. All rights reserved.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus