Decision 2017: Anchorage Assembly race

By  | 

Election results with 98 percent of precincts reporting:

A total of 20 candidates are vying for the six Anchorage Assembly seats up for grabs in Wednesday’s municipal election. Only two of them are incumbents. Hear from the candidates running in your district by clicking on the short videos posted above.

This story will be updated with election results as they become available.

District 1, Seat B: Downtown Anchorage

A crowded field of six candidates are hoping to replace current assemblyman Patrick Flynn as he nears the end of his term limits. They are:

  • Christopher Constant

  • Mark Martinson

  • Albert Swank Jr.

  • David Dunsmore

  • Warren West

  • Chris Cox

District 2, Seat C: Chugiak/Eagle River

There are four candidates vying for the seat of current assemblyman Bill Starr who is also nearing the end of his term limits. They are:

  • John Brassel

  • Gretchen Wehmhoff

  • Fred Dyson

  • Patrick Donnelly

District 3, Seat E: West Anchorage

West Anchorage's District 3 covers areas like Spenard, Westchester Lagoon, Campbell Lake and all the way up to the airport. Tim Steele is the incumbent in the seat. He is running against teacher and coach David Nees.

District 4, Seat G: Midtown Anchorage

Four candidates are running to fill the seat currently held by currently held by Assembly Chair Elvi Gray-Jackson. Midtown, like much of the city, has seen rising crime rates in the last year and has also faced challenges when it comes to plowing streets and sidewalks, according to some of the candidates. They are:

  • Felix Rivera

  • Marcus Sanders

  • Don Smith

  • Ron Alleva

District 5, Seat I: East Anchorage

Incumbent Pete Petersen, a former state legislator, is running against challenger Don Jones, a former military officer who says he wants to restore taxpayer faith in the local government.

District 6, Seat K: South Anchorage

Two candidates are vying for Seat K after incumbent Bill Evans announced last year that he would not be seeking reelection. They are Albert Albert Fogle and Suzzane LaFrance. The large South Anchorage district faces a number of unique issues, including the loss of Alaska State Trooper patrols along the Seward Highway and the recent closing of the trooper post in Girdwood.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus