Jeremy Swayman wins 2020 Mike Richter Award

 (Courtesy Peter Buehner)
(Courtesy Peter Buehner) (KTUU)
Published: Apr. 11, 2020 at 7:21 PM AKDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn
Correction: An earlier post of this article had the award as the Mark Richter award. We have since corrected it to the Mike Richter award.

Former South Anchorage Wolverine Jeremy Swayman wins the 2020 Mike Richter Award, given to the nation's top Division I college hockey goaltender.

The award was announced Saturday night on Sportscenter. Swayman was also a finalist for the Hobey Baker award, given out to college hockey's top player overall.

Swayman, who plays for the University of Maine, finished his junior season leading the nation in saves with 1,099 and also posted a 2.07 goals against average. His .939 save percentage was second in the nation. Out of the 1,170 shots he faced, he just allowed 71 goals.

Copyright 2020 KTUU. All rights reserved.

Latest News

Latest News