Prisoners charged in riot, occupation of Fairbanks Correctional Center

Fairbanks Correctional Center
By  | 

FAIRBANKS, Alaska (KTUU) - Months after a jail wing was occupied by over a dozen prisoners, prosecutors identified those inmates that they say helped caused the riot disturbance.

That event took place back in August 2017 when inmates staged a riot and took control of an area of the Fairbanks Correctional Center, occupying it by "approximately 15 inmates."

Now, a grand jury has indicted 13 of those inmates on riot and criminal mischief charges. Their names are as follows:

Jerald Burton Jr., 24

Patrick Burton-Hill, 24

Tevyn Davis, 23

Robert Gentleman III, 39

Anthony Heard, 41

Marcus Howard, 22

Donovan Huntington, 34

Hoe Kim, 31

Nicholas Pierce, 24

Dametrey Rice, 24

RJ Seymour, 20

Eli Simpson, 22

Justin West, 26

Back in August, these individuals reportedly refused to surrender to FCC personnel, and Fairbanks police tactical units were deployed to quash the occupation of the facility.

Requests were made for the inmates to surrender themselves to authorities, however according to Alaska State Troopers, such requests were met with "breaking windows in the facility as well as pouring soap and water on the floors."

Seeing no chance of peaceful surrender, the special emergency response team positioned near the facility deployed "chemical irritants" into that wing of the jail.

Shortly after that, troopers say, the inmates surrendered "without further incident." Initially, one of the inmates reported an injury, but was later cleared as uninjured. A spokesperson with the Department of Justice told Channel 2 that the facility "suffered minor damage."

Though charges have been filed, Fairbanks AST says it will be additionally forwarding "numerous charges for felony assault and riot" for prosecution to the district attorney’s office for review.