15 teams sign up for 2020 Iron Dog, plus former champs change partners

ANCHORAGE (KTUU) - It’s never too early to start thinking about the 2020 Iron Dog as 15 teams signed up for the 2020 race, defending champs Team 10, Chris Olds and Mike Morgan, were the first to sign up.

Iron Dog fans will have to get used to 2016 champions Tyson Johnson and Tyler Aklestad on different teams. Johnson riding with Brad George from Wasilla, and Aklestad is paired with race veteran Nick Olstad.

The first 15 teams to sign up will have the advantage of drawing the first 15 positions, registration closes on Oct. 31. Earlier this year Iron Dog announced the actual race route will be flipped starting in Fairbanks on Feb. 16, and end in Willow Feb. 22, adding additional 375-mile loop through Kotzebue traveling a total of 2,409 miles.

2020 Iron Dog Race Route (Courtesy of Iron Dog)

Iron Dog director John Woodbury said the purse for the 2020 race will be at least $100,000, plus contingency prizes.

Copyright 2019 KTUU. All rights reserved.