28 mushers sign up to race Iditarod 2019

By  | 

WASILLA, Alaska (KTUU) - The Iditarod Trail Committee Headquarters in Wasilla saw 17 mushers on site to sign up for the 2019 race as another 11 mushers signed up by mail.

The 29 mushers who signed up are less than half the 52 mushers who signed up for the 2018 race at the annual picnic in 2017.

Among the entrants were three former champions including Jeff King, Martin Buser and Joar Leifseth Ulsom.

There were two rookies and four international mushers: two from Canada, one from Norway and one from Sweden.

Two mushers were randomly selected to be given free entry to the race. The winners were Anja Radano of Talkeetna and Jeff Deeter of Two Rivers.

Radano won the same prize last year for her rookie race meaning she is yet to pay for entry to the Iditarod.