Failor wins 2019 Kuskokwim 300

Photo by Greg Lincoln.

ANCHORAGE (KTUU) - Matthew Failor is the 2019 Kuskokwim 300 champion, KYUK reports Failor’s 36:32:23 finish time is a new race record. Failor was able to dethrone Pete “Kusko King” Kaiser who had won the previous four straight K300’s.

Veteran Musher Nic Petit finished in second place, but was penalized an additional hour to his finish time. Race officials released a statement regarding their decision to penalize Petit.

"Race rules require racers who lose the trail to return to the trail at the point the trail was lost. In this case a review of the trail showed numerous markers, including a bright orange highway light near the point where Petit left the trail. He acknowledged he saw the light but also informed judges he was running with his headlight off when he first left the trail. Several other racers also left the trail at the same location with their headlights off but all returned to the trail upon learning their error," wrote race officials Sunday.

2019 Kuskokwim 300 standings

1. Matthew Failor
2. Pete Kaiser
3. Jessie Holmes
4. Nic Petit
5. Jeff King