8 Alaska skiers, including 2 sets of siblings, named to U.S. World Championship teams

Scott Patterson (KTUU Photo)

ANCHORAGE (KTUU) - U.S. Ski & Snowboard has named 18 skiers to the U.S. Cross Country team that will compete in the 2019 World Championships next month. The roster includes four Alaska men and four Alaska-connected women. Among the Alaskans are two sets of siblings.

For the men, Alaska Pacific University’s Erik Bjornsen, Logan Hanneman and Scott Patterson – all who competed in the 2018 Winter Olympics, were named to the team. Bjornsen was also on the 2010 Olympic team. David Norris, originally of Fairbanks and also on APU’s competitive ski team, is also named to the team. Norris won the 2018 running of the Mt. Marathon mountain race in Seward.

For the women, Sadie Bjornsen, also a two-time Olympian, Caitlin Patterson, originally from Anchorage and now competing in Vermont, and Rosie Brennan and Rosie Frankowski, who ski for APU, have also been named to the team. All four women were on the national team during the 2018 Winter Olympics.

Erik and Sadie Bjornsen are siblings who grew up in Washington State, but have trained in Alaska for their two Olympic campaigns. Scott and Caitlin Patterson are Anchorage-raised siblings who both competed for team USA in the 2018 Winter Olympics. Patterson was the highest-placing U.S. man in the 15K freestyle, 50K classic, and 30K skiathlon in the Games.

Sadie Bjornsen is a bronze medalist from the 2017 World Championships, teamed up with Jesse Diggins for the classic team sprint.

Diggins is also returning to the U.S. championship team. She was one half of the history-making duo with Alaska’s Kikkan Randall to win the first U.S. women’s gold medal in cross-country skiing in the women’s team sprint.

The 2019 FIS Nordic World Ski Championships will be held in Seefled, Austria. The biennial event takes place Feb. 20-March 3. The event will be streamed in full on NBCSports.com.

Here are the full rosters for the men and women, with their hometowns and current teams (Alaskans in bold).

Simi Hamilton, Aspen, Co., (SMST2)
Erik Bjornsen, Winthrop, Wash., (Alaska Pacific University)
Andy Newell, Shaftsbury, Vt., (SMST2)
Kevin Bolger, Sun Valley, Idaho, (SVSEF)
Logan Hanneman, Fairbanks, Alaska, (Alaska Pacific University)
Kyle Bratrud, Eden Prairie, Minn., (SMST2)
David Norris, Fairbanks, Alaska, (Alaska Pacific University)
Ben Lustgarten, Burlington, Vt., (Craftsbury Green Racing)
Adam Martin, Wausau, Wis., (Craftsbury Green Racing)
Scott Patterson, Anchorage, Alaska, (Alaska Pacific University)

Sadie Bjornsen, Winthrop, Wash., (Alaska Pacific University)
Sophie Caldwell, Stratton Mountain, Vt., (SMST2)
Jessie Diggins, Afton, Minn., (SMST2)
Rosie Brennan, Park City, Utah, (Alaska Pacific University)
Ida Sargent, Craftsbury, Vt., (Craftsbury Green Racing)
Julia Kern, Waltham, Mass., ( SMST2)
Caitlin Patterson, Craftsbury, Vt., (Craftsbury Green Racing)
Rosie Frankowski, Minneapolis, Minn., (Alaska Pacific University)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus