ASAA announces Alaska High School Hall of Fame Class of 2019

Alev Kelter, Women's Rugby

Anchorage (KTUU) The Alaska School Activities Association has announced its 2019 class for the Alaska High School Hall of Fame.

Chugiak's Alev Kelter, Kenai's Stacia Rustad, Chugiak's Cody Tanner, Juneau Douglas's Justin Dorn, Homer's Philip Engebretsen, Bethel's Randy Hanson and Ninilchik's Austin Vanderford are the athlete's inductees this year.

Kelter was a multi sport athlete in flag football, hockey and soccer. She was the Gatorade soccer player of the year in 2008 and 2009. Kelter earned the Ernest P. Gruening award for outstanding school and community service. After high school, she took her talents on a full ride scholarship to the University of Wisconsin for both soccer and hockey.

She helped the Badgers soccer team to a Sweet 16 berth her freshman year and two years later, as a junior, Kelter assisted on the game winning goal against Boston University in the NCAA Women's D-I hockey national championship. She's now a star for Team USA in rugby.

Tanner was a three time finalist in wrestling, winning two championships for Chugiak in 1976 and 1978. During his three year high school career, Tanner had a record of 74-6.

After graduation, Tanner went on to wrestle for Southwest Oregon Community College, where he won the Oregon Community School Championship. He returned to Alaska where he was the coach at Colony high school, later becoming a wrestling official and being selected to work at several state championships.

Rustad was a multi sport athlete for Kenai in cross country, volleyball and track as well as a four year starter on the Kenai basketball team. She was a key player in the Kardinal's 1991 basketball state championship and 1992 state runner up team.

She went on to receive a basketball scholarship at the University of Maine, where she was the 1995 and 1996 Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Rustad is now the athletic director at Wasilla high school.

Hanson was a four time state wrestling finalist for Bethel and a three time state champion.

Engebrestson was an outstanding multi sport athlete and student at Homer high school. He was all state in football and basketball, state football's most valuable player and state basketball player of the year, just to name a few of his awards.

After graduating, Engebretsen received a full academic scholarship to Occidental college. He played basketball and threw javelin there.

Dorn was a dominant soccer player, a part of the Crimson Bear's state runner up team in 2000 and the state championship team in 2001.

After high school, Dorn went to Gonzaga University, graduating with a degree in Exercise Science. He now lives in Juneau, where he works at a physical therapist and owns Juneau Physical Therapy.

For the coaches, the inductees are Mike Ashley, a coach for 19 seasons at Dimond, West, Service, and South Anchorage high schools as a hockey coach and Vic Belleque, a longtime successful volleyball and basketball coach for Dillingham high school. Belleque had a career record of 317-155 with five conference championships. Ashley, in his career, his teams won over 380 games and nine state championships.

The lifetime achievement award is being awarded to Steve Nerland, for his advocacy for better sports facilities in Alaska.

Nerland was one of the driving forces behind the Alaska Airlines Center as well as the Dome.

He also founded the Alaska Airlines Classic Basketball Tournament in 1989, served as the chair for the Service High School Tipoff basketball tournament for six years, coached Service basketball for 12 years, and won the state basketball championship with the Cougars in 2001.

Nerland also started and is the president of the non-profit Alliance for the Support of American Legion Baseball in 1994. The Alliance handles the operations of American Legion Baseball in the state of Alaska.