Alaska Sports Hall of Fame looking for 2018 Directors' Award nominations

ANCHORAGE (KTUU) - The Alaska Sports Hall of Fame is looking for feedback on this year’s Youth Directors’ Awards for high-school aged athletes. The winners will be selected on March 28 at 5 p.m.

Here is a list of the awards, and how the hall defines each. You can click here to make a nomination.

Pride of Alaska Award (Adult and Youth)
Adult Winner: Kikkan Randall (XC Skier) , Roxy Wright (Sprint Musher) , and Andrew Kurka (Paralympian)

For Consistent Excellence in Athletic Competition – For an athlete or athletes, team or coach who not only excelled in sports in the past year or recent years, but did so with integrity and sportsmanship so as to be a positive role model for others.

Joe Floyd Award (Adult Only)
Adult Winner: Jim Mahaffey (Former UAF Ski Coach)

For Significant and Lasting Contribution to Alaska through Sports – For a person or group of people who, over a period of years, made a significant and lasting contribution to sports in Alaska. This contribution could be for a particular sport, for multiple sports, for a particular town or area and for participants or spectators. For achievement over multiple years with priority given to more recent years.

Trajan Langdon Award (Adult and Youth)
Adult Winner: Nene Hale (College Basketball Player)

[RELATED: From homeless to hopeful: Anchorage's nene Hale shoots for WNBA dream]

For Leadership, Sportsmanship and Inspiration – For a person or group of people who demonstrated leadership, integrity and sportsmanship during the past year and positively influenced and inspired others to be better sportsmen or sportswomen.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus