Four Alaskan skiers podium at U.S. Nationals in the classic mass start

Anchorage (KTUU) Strong showing continues for Alaskan cross country skiers at the L.L. Bean 2020 U.S. National cross-country skiing championships in Michigan. Four skiers finished on the podium after Sunday's classic mass start.

Anchorage's Erik Bjornsen won the men's 30-kilometer classic mass start with a time of 1:19.34. Alaska Winter Star's Gus Schumacher took fourth with a time of 1:19.55.2, and APU'S Tyler Kornfield and Hunter Wonders finished 7th and 19th respectively.

In the women's 20-kilometer mass start, APU'S Hailey Swirbul won with a time of 1:04.06.7 but right behind her in second is Anchorage's Caitlin Patterson with a time of 1:04.07.7. In 5th is APU'S Rosie Frankowski and in 6th is APU'S Becca Rorabaugh.

Moving over to the boys 10 - kilometer race, Anchorage's Luke Jager wins with a time of 29:39.7 and in the girls' 7.5-kilometer race, West Valley's Kendall Kramer took third.

The national championships finish up with the classic sprint races on January 7th.

Copyright 2019 KTUU. All rights reserved.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus