Iditarod Board selects new president after Baker steps down

ANCHORAGE (KTUU) - The Iditarod Trail Committee announced on Friday it has formally elected its officers and executive committee for 2019.

According to a press release from the ITC, Mike Mills will serve as the new president of the Iditarod Board of Directors. He's replacing outgoing board president Andy Baker. Danny Seybert and Mike Jonrowe will remain on the board as vice president and secretary.

[RELATED: Iditarod Board says noc hanges after call for member's resignation]

Ryan York was selected as the treasurer of the board.

Andy Baker said in the press release that he leaves the board in the very capable hands of each of the remaining members. "I look forward to being a spectator and fan of the Last Great Race on Earth," Baker said.

Mike Mills thanked everyone who is leaving the board and said the ITC will work to build on the efforts already started.

"I am honored to be on the Iditarod board and look forward to establishing a best-practices culture based on integrity, stability and financial soundness," Mills said.

The board had recently increased the number of board members, adding more members from outside the world of dog mushing in order to reduce conflicts of interest -- a goal identified by a consultant's report earlier this year.

The ITC also reached an agreement in principle with sponsor GCI. GCI will sponsor the race for an additional four-year term, through 2022.

Iditarod XLVII will get underway on Saturday, March 2, 2019, at 10:00 a.m. in downtown Anchorage.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus