Iditarod names Alaska NTSB chief as new board member

Clint Johnson with the NTSB was appointed the newest member of the Iditarod Trail Committee Board of Directors.
By  | 

ANCHORAGE, Alaska (KTUU) — The Iditarod Trail Committee named its newest board member Monday, the fifth such appointment since earlier this month.

According to the statement, Clint Johnson, the chief of the National Transportation Safety Board's regional office in Alaska, will be taking a seat on the Iditarod's board.

“For a majority of my life I've always watched the Iditarod trail race from afar,” Johnson told Channel 2 Monday. “I've always admired it, it's very uniquely Alaskan, and I'm proud of that."

A three-person recruiting committee was chosen to find five new board members, including the four previously announced: Nina Kemppel, Karen King, Mike Mills, and Ryan York.

The board made big changes to remove any instances of potential conflicts of interest, one of many recommendations from a report compiled late last year.

[RELATED: Iditarod board starts implementing recommendations made by the Foraker Group]

The new members do not appear to have any mushing backgrounds, and Iditarod CEO Stan Hooley said they were chosen because they bring different types of expertise to the table, including law, advertising, and public relations.

"In our daily work, we go into chaotic situations trying to get everything back online, not saying there is any chaos here by any sense of the imagination, but problem-solving is the best way to sum it up," said Johnson, describing his experience.

In addition to heading Alaska's NTSB, Johnson is noted in the ITC press release as being a former president of the Anchorage Hillside Rotary Club.

Editor's note: A previous version of this story incorrectly referred to Clint Johnson as a current president of the Anchorage Hillside Rotary Club.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus