Seven teams look to leave WCHA -- UAA and UAF not included

Anchorage (KTUU) - UAA and UAF might have to find a new league to play hockey in following the 2021 season.

Seven of the ten teams in the WCHA have petitioned to find a new Division I men's hockey conference. Those seven teams include Bemidji State, Bowling Green State University, Ferris State University, Lake Superior State University, Michigan Technological University, Minnesota State University Mankato, and Northern Michigan University.

UAA, UAF and Alabama Huntsville are the three remaining teams in the conference.

The seven universities say the reason for wanting to leave is "They are like-minded in their goals and aspirations for the potential new league with a focus on improving regional alignment and the overall student-athlete experience while building natural rivalries within a more compact
geographic footprint," according to a press release sent out by a representative for the universities.

The teams will play in the WCHA during the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 seasons.

The seven schools have each submitted formal letters of notice to the conference office. This initiates the withdrawal process according to the WCHA bylaws.

The WCHA issued its own press release in response to the seven schools petitions, saying it had received the communications from the schools.

The release goes on to say "While this news is disappointing, the WCHA will work to assure that any members that do withdraw do so in accordance with WCHA Bylaws."

Copyright 2019 KTUU. All rights reserved.