WATCH: Seward woman wins Mt. Marathon race

SEWARD, Alaska (KTUU) - Hannah Lafleur of Seward has won the 2019 running of the Mt. Marathon race. She finished with a time of 53:24.

Hannah Lafleur crosses the finish line to win the 2019 Mt. Marathon women's race. (KTUU)

Christy Marvin of Palmer, and Julianne Dickerson of Anchorage finished within a minute of Lafleur. Marvin finished the course with a time of 53:54 and Dickerson with 54:03.

See the full race results here.

The race was affected by smoky conditions this year.

Lafleur said she was disappointed that the smoky conditions led some to drop out of the race, but that she understood their reasoning.

"I respect those people's decisions because they're going to keep racing this summer and they have a lot more consequences than I do," Lafleur said.

She said the heat may affect the men's racers more than the smoke.

Some elite runners said they'd worried that lung issues spurred by the smoke may affect their training for the rest of the year.

Racers are allowed to defer if they've decided the smoky air quality is too bad.

The Junior's race was canceled Thrusday morning, but dozens of teens took to the mountain anyway, since they'd trained and traveled to Seward.

A number of women's racers wore pink in honor of men's competitor Fred Moore, who is scheduled to compete in his 50th-straight Mt. Marathon race. Moore's wife bought him pink shorts one year so she could keep track of him on the mountain, and they've become a race-day staple for Moore in the years since.

Channel 2's MK Burgess was live at the start of the race:

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus